Pros & Cons for Electronic Wedding Website Invites

Because we are basically having an international gathering for our wedding… I used a website (which I created using a great template as a guide) to give all the guests the same information in the spot. So far it’s a work in progress but here is a list of things I’ve noticed through creating a website vs. a traditional invite.

PROS

Reduced questions about the venue, registry and dress code

Most people who know me in real life…know that I am practical, straight to the point and artistic/fashionable. I am doing the smaller details to let SO focus on things he is good at (menu/bigger picture/special requests which I then go find). I was able to provide a pretty accurate timeline of what was going on, for guests who are clueless in the fashion department there is a gallery with outfits that match what I am asking them to wear (cocktail attire or something you could wear to the Melbourne Cup) and how to log onto our registry.

The wedding website can be password protected and private

Because I have personal problems in the form of a drama riddled family and threatening (in the past) parents who won’t be coming; I don’t want the riff raff to publicly know about our wedding.  Having each page password protected gives me peace of mind – also as a security thing – knowing if someone is out for the day or has a whole bunch of wedding presents coming can make those at the wedding a robbery target. Also I don’t post anything of myself on social media – so this way I can control the narrative about what I want to post/reveal.

International Postage is a bitch

Seriously…I don’t understand why Australia Post is so expensive for such a subpar service.

We would be spending hundreds on cards and it’s not a cost I am prepared to pony up – plus I am a techie (SO isn’t but agreed technology would help reduce postage and communication costs). The recent CEO retired and ended up with a multi million dollar handshake (and for what! I’ve filed 20 different complaints with A Post and the ombudsman for not getting my mail sent to the casa).  They even fucked up losing my graduation papers back in 2013!

I don’t trust Australia Post to send the cards out on time or to get it right!

The 207-year-old national postal service has been busy working on ways to reinvent itself amid the slow death of the letter, but consumers are not happy.

They have flooded social media to vent their anger about slow service, long call centre waiting times, posties leaving tickets rather than trying to deliver parcels, and business customers unhappy about urgent pick-ups being missed.

In its latest annual report, the Postal Industry Ombudsman says complaints about Australia Post have almost trebled since 2008. The bulk of the complaints are about loss and delivery issues.

“In 2014-15 we received 5613 complaints about Australia Post, which was a 38 per cent increase on the previous financial year,” the report says.

Consumer group Choice spokesman Tom Godfrey said social media had quickly become the main method for customers to complain.

“Whether it’s dodgy Fitbits or a letter that doesn’t arrive on time, if you have a problem you take it to social media to let the company know,” he said.

“They don’t like it — it embarrasses them. As soon as you put their brand under pressure they might take some action.”

The price of a regular stamp rose 40 per cent in January to $1 and regular letter delivery times were revamped to two to six days, in an effort to stem losses in the letters delivery business that is never again expected to make a profit.

SO told me that in Europe (generally across the countries) you are expected to know the areas you work in – so the local postman would know the families and there wouldn’t be any of the shit where couriers half throw your mail collection cards in other people’s boxes or lie about dropping off items because they won’t walk to your front door.  Why can’t Australia Post act less like a private corporation (which they are trying to flog off) and more like a government owned company which is SUPPOSED to fucking do its job of delivering the mail. A con to this was SO’s family/friends *may* have thought we were posting them individual cards. It’s a bit tough repeating the website *IS* the invite lol.

Saves money from time wasting save the date cards/events

It’s not money worth spending on our wedding. The website flat out states the date and time our welcomed guests are expected. I don’t like guesswork and I wouldn’t personally save a whole week of annual leave (if I ever got invited to a wedding) over a guestimate day.

CONS

Our guests didn’t seem to originally ‘get’ it

and apparently used verbal communication and facebook to confirm… not what I really asked for but SO said it was OK

SO forgets to update the social media groups he created – so when we had the registry up – he didn’t tell guests straight away … LOL I heard him say “I’ll do it next weekend” for a month.

Can be crowded with all those social mediums

It can be hard to have a website…then talk about it on facebook…then all the other ones that follow. Phew.

Technology doesn’t always work

Some of our guests (the smart ones who RSVPed online) had some glitches while trying to let me know they were coming. Technology isn’t faultless. Something to keep in mind.

